Home / Travel Guides / Europe / France / Montpellier / Montpellier / Chapelle des Penitents bleus

Chapelle des Penitents bleus, Montpellier

View gallery

1 photos

Below are pictures and videos. Select what you want to view below.

Contact: +33 4 67 60 60 60
Open Hours: OpenM-Su except M, Sa & Su afternoon, Closed Jul & Aug, Mass: 8a & 9a (except Jul & Aug) M-F, 5p Sa, 10a Su (except Jul & Aug)
The Penitents Bleus fraternity, (derived from the fraternity of Sainte Claude de Charnier), initially established themselves in the Sainte Eulalie church. Over the centuries it underwent a series of major changes. It was dissolved and re-established twice consecutively during the 16th and 17th Centuries - it adopted its current name in 1722. The first chapel on the current site was erected in 1746 but was occupied and sold off during the Revolution (during which the fraternity was once again dissolved) before being destroyed at the beginning of the 19th Century. The current chapel, (constructed later in the 19th Century), now finds itself nestled amongst the surrounding shops and offers a haven for quiet reflection away from busy street that descends from the Place de la Comedie.