Home / Travel Guides / United States / Illinois / Chicago / Chicago / Fine Arts Building

Fine Arts Building, Chicago

View gallery

3 photos

Below are pictures and videos. Select what you want to view below.

Contact: +1 312 566 9800
Open Hours: Mo to Fr from 07:00 AM to 10:00 PM,Sa from 07:00 AM to 09:00 PM,Su from 09:00 AM to 05:00 PM
Designed by Solon B. Beman, this building opened in 1885 as a showroom and factory for the Studebaker company. Back then, it made a variety of horse drawn vehicles. (An early Studebaker covered wagon is at the Museum of Science and Industry .) After Studebaker moved out, the arts moved in, and the building became known as the "Carnegie Hall" of Chicago. The first floor provided a theater space, while the rest of the building housed offices of drama and music teachers. L. Frank Baum (the writer of "The Wizard of Oz"), Lorado Taft and Frank Lloyd Wright all had studios here. Today, the arts live on, and many of the offices remain dedicated to music.