As villages developed around the bottom of Fourvière hill in the 12th-13th centuries, another community grew up around ... More
As villages developed around the bottom of Fourvière hill in the 12th-13th centuries, another community grew up around Saint-Jean cathedral. The constructions here were practically all the same - a house overlooking the street and a house behind that overlooked inner courtyard, which were connected by loggias and spiral staircases. Passages were created to make it easier to get from the street to the house in the courtyard. There are quite a few of these passages, named "traboules", in the Vieux Lyon district, which give you access to the inner courtyards of Gothic and Renaissance houses. For some, an entry code is needed, but most home-owners let visitors walk around freely during the day. However, do remember that the "traboules" are private property, so respect them. Here are some ideas of "traboules" to try: Entrance (Exit) and vice-versa: 2 Place du Gouvernement (10 Quai R. Rolland); 3 Place du Gouvernement (11 Quai R. Rolland); 10 Rue Saint Jean (2 Place du Petit Collège); 9 Rue des Trois Maries (17 Quai R. Rolland); 13 Rue des Trois Maries (18 Quai R. Rolland); 24 Rue Saint Jean (1 Rue du Boeuf); 40 Rue Saint Jean (5 Place Neuve); 54 Rue Saint Jean (27 Rue du Boeuf).
The church of Lyon's bishop, one of Gaul's most important, has been situated on the banks of the Saone at
the bottom of Fourvière hill since the 4th Century. Construction of the present building started in 1170 1180 and ...
During his reign, Louis 12 decided to fortify Lyon and had a number of forts built around the city one
of which was St Jean (middle of 16th century). To give the garrisons easy access a road was built, ...