Open Hours: OpenM-Su except M, Sa & Su afternoon, Closed Jul & Aug, Mass: 8a & 9a (except Jul & Aug) M-F, 5p Sa, 10a Su (except Jul & Aug)
The Penitents Bleus fraternity, (derived from the fraternity of Sainte Claude de Charnier), initially established themselves ... More
Chapelle des Penitents bleus
The Penitents Bleus fraternity, (derived from the fraternity of Sainte Claude de Charnier), initially established themselves in the Sainte Eulalie church. Over the centuries it underwent a series of major changes. It was dissolved and re-established twice consecutively during the 16th and 17th Centuries - it adopted its current name in 1722. The first chapel on the current site was erected in 1746 but was occupied and sold off during the Revolution (during which the fraternity was once again dissolved) before being destroyed at the beginning of the 19th Century. The current chapel, (constructed later in the 19th Century), now finds itself nestled amongst the surrounding shops and offers a haven for quiet reflection away from busy street that descends from the Place de la Comedie.
The main tourist office is found on the edge of the Place de la Comedie facing the Polygon. There are
free guides and maps of the city as well as a Bureau de Change and a service to help ...
The building whose Corinthian columns face out on to the Avenue Foch was completed in 1853. The palace occupies a
site long associated with power and justice. In the 12th Century, Guilhem VI built his castle on the site ...
Established in 1641 on the grounds of St Catherine's convent, the Ursuline Convent was particularly renowned for the education of
young ladies. Later the convent was replaced by a women's detention center. For several years the building has been ...