In 1883, the city purchased 35 acres of land and turned it into the first city-owned park, a gorgeous commons known as ... More
In 1883, the city purchased 35 acres of land and turned it into the first city-owned park, a gorgeous commons known as Central Park, designed by Frederick Law Olmstead, the designer of New York City's Central Park. In 1890, the park's name was changed to honor Charles Loring, the first president of the Minneapolis Park Board and the initial force behind preserving much of the land that eventually evolved into one of the nation's most magnificent city park systems. An active and much-used inner city recreation area, Loring Park has a basketball court, paved walking and bike paths, numerous tennis courts, horseshoe pits and shuffleboard courts. In winter, the lake is packed with skaters. On the west side Irene Hixon Whitney Bridge connects the park to the Walker Art Center. Loring Greenway, a well-traveled pedestrian thoroughfare, connects the park to downtown's Nicollet Mall. At the end of the Greenway is the Berger Fountain, shaped like a giant dandelion. Free concerts are held in the summer and picnic tables are scattered throughout the park. The recreation building houses restrooms, an information center and ping-pong tables.
This is a very pretty park set on the edge of downtown Minneapolis. Be sure to enjoy the fountain. In the wintertime we enjoy ice skating on the pond. There's also many one of a kind restaurants along the perimeter of the park. We also like to take in occasional concert in the park.
Affectionately known as the MIA, this museum is home to an exceptional gallery of Impressionist paintings and an exquisite Asian
collection. The museum holds significant works by American and European artists including Picasso, Kandinsky, Matisse and Rodin, though it ...
Our Lady of Lourdes Catholic Church is the oldest continuously used church in Minneapolis. Listed on the National Register of
Historic Places, the landmark church stands in the heart of the St. Anthony Falls Historic District. The original building ...
Mill Ruins Park opened its doors to the public in 2001. Visitors can learn about the city's flour production and
water power run industry here. Once you're done with your history lesson for the day, take a walk on ...