What today is called the "Muralla del Puerto" (Port Wall) is what remains of the wall that encircled the city on ... More
Muralla del Puerto
What today is called the "Muralla del Puerto" (Port Wall) is what remains of the wall that encircled the city on three sides from the 16th century until it was mostly demolished in 1863. Here in this remaining piece situated on the Monte Urgull side, you can still see a walled-up gate and several gun ports (holes built into the wall to fire from). The present gateway, called Portaletas, is the result of renovation work. The wall is very wide (almost two meters), and its top was partially cut off. Today it is used as a walkway between City Hall and the lower part of Mount Urgull; the only thing that had to be added were the railings. It is a splendid site from which to observe all the activity down on the quay.
The San Pedro Apóstol parish in the Dalt Vila area of the city did not have its own church until
the State granted the use of the so called "Convent" church to the diocese in 1929. The foundations for ...
Between the 15th and 19th centuries, a series of defensive structures was built at this strategic point in the Caribbean
Sea to protect the city and the Bay of San Juan. They represent a fine display of European military ...
Located on the northeast corner of Old San Juan, Fort Cristobal is one of the largest fortresses ever built in
the Americas. Construction commenced in 1634 and the fort was redesigned in the 19th century. With its impressive walls ...