The Ospedale Vecchio was founded by Rodolfo Tanzi in 1201. It faces onto Via d'Azeglio and its façade is decorated ... More
The Ospedale Vecchio was founded by Rodolfo Tanzi in 1201. It faces onto Via d'Azeglio and its façade is decorated with a series of porticoes and marble columns. Enlarged, and partially reconstructed in the 15th Century, its enormous architectural complex developed and became part of the Sforza family's Renaissance hospital, built on a cross plan. Four large courtyards were later added to this by Giovanni Antonio da Erba. It underwent various other changes throughout the Centuries and housed the hospital until 1926. The decoration on the façade and in the cloisters are by the 16th Century artist Antonio Ferrari d'Agrate. Today the building houses the Library, the Archivio Storico Comunale and the Archivio di Stato (state archives).
This large complex that has incorporated the Palazzo delle Poste since 1909, was originally made up of various houses in
the center of which was the parocchial church of San Michele del Pertugio, which was closed in 1653 and ...
Best known of all of Florence's treasures, this glorious bridge was the only one of six spared by the retreating
Germans on August 4, 1944. Over the centuries flooding unfortunately took its toll; few traces of the 10th century ...
Count Giulio Rangoni, lord of Roccabianca, bought this building from Bartolomeo Cantelli in 1572. It is now home to the
prefecture. In the course of time it became an object of dispute between the heirs, in 1690 part of ...