Founded as a Jesuit college in 1634, today this is the main University site. It is an extraordinary example of a productive ... More
Founded as a Jesuit college in 1634, today this is the main University site. It is an extraordinary example of a productive use of the hillside behind, featuring a panorama of stairways, galleries and hanging gardens, like in the Palazzo Doria Tursi on the Via Garibaldi, modelled on the work of the architect Bartolomeo Bianco. The splendid Aula Magna, richly frescoed by G.A. Carlone, is certainly worth a visit. The University Library nearby is housed in the former Jesuit church of S. Francesco Saverio, with frescoes by D. Piola, partially hidden by the bookshelves. Admission:Free.
This large complex that has incorporated the Palazzo delle Poste since 1909, was originally made up of various houses in
the center of which was the parocchial church of San Michele del Pertugio, which was closed in 1653 and ...
Founded in the 14th century as the first city council, this palazzo was expropriated from the Grimaldi family and subsequently
underwent its first series of extensions at the end of the sixteenth century, under the supervision of A. Vannone. ...
Building work for this magnificent Municipal Palace began in 1287 on the Western side of Piazza Maggiore . It was
originally called the "Palazzo delle Biade" and became the splendid residence of the papal legate. The only remaining architectural ...