The Dominican parish church of Saint Saviour is situated in Baker Place at the upper end of Glentworth Street. The Dominicans ... More
The Dominican parish church of Saint Saviour is situated in Baker Place at the upper end of Glentworth Street. The Dominicans were originally established in the old St. Dominic's Abbey, whose ruins are now preserved in the grounds of Saint Mary's convent, near King John's Castle. Though expelled in 1541, they continued in Limerick, often secretly. They returned to an open existence in 1730 and in 1815 they moved to Baker Place. The church here was renovated in 1863 and again in 1870. One of the side chapels commemorates Terence Albert O'Brien O.P. Bishop of Emly, who was hanged by the Cromwellians in 1651. This was carved in Flanders in the 17th century, and was looked after by the Dominicans during penal times.
"One of Ireland's tallest hotels boasts an idyllic location on the River Shannon waterfront in Limerick city center. 20 km
from Shannon Airport, this 17 story building combines architectural mastery with warm interiors and exceptional service. Each bedroom enjoys ...
Limerick's major horse racing track is situated in Greenpark. Limerick Racecourse is a state of the art venue providing ample
car parking along with catering and bar facilities for race days and other events such as exhibitions. The highlight ...
Limerick County Golf & Country Club meanders over an undulating sand based parkland course. Des Smyth and Associates designed this
challenging course; one of Ireland's newest courses, it provides a new and exciting challenge for the novice golfer and ...