The Karemeliterplatz, which leads into Sporgasse (and has only been part of the inner city since 1623), owes its relatively ... More
The Karemeliterplatz, which leads into Sporgasse (and has only been part of the inner city since 1623), owes its relatively new monument, the "Dreifaltigkeitssäule" (Trinity Column), to the increasing amount of traffic on the Hauptplatz. Until 1796 the so-called Maria or Turkish Column stood on the Karameliterplatz, but it was subsequently moved, first to the Jakominiplatz and then to the Eisernes Tor. The Karameliterplatz had to do without any sort of embellishments for 80 years, until the Dreifaltigkeitssäule had to be taken off the Hauptplatz due to increasing traffic volumes. This memorial to the great plague in 1685 has been standing on the Karameliterplatz since 1876.
The fact that the 473 meter high Hausberg remains a green oasis even today is attributable to Franz Ludwig von
Welden. The formerly bare Dolomite rock used to be the site of a fort and all but the watch ...
The Kasemattenbühne is an open air stage on the plateau of the Schlossberg, set among the scattered ruins of the
fort built in 1809. Originally, Kasematten were storage cellars, also used as prisons. They were located below the main ...
The largest castle in the Steiermark, incorporated into the Johanneum museum in 1947, shelters a whole new world to discover.
Erected in 1625 as a representative building by Duke Hans Ulrich von Eggenberg, it still manages to preserve its ...