Originally called The Hills, the arrival of settlers from Norfolk Island in 1807 led to the renaming of this town; New ... More
Originally called The Hills, the arrival of settlers from Norfolk Island in 1807 led to the renaming of this town; New Norfolk. In the heart of the Derwent Valley, New Norfolk boasts lovely autumnal scenery, historic buildings and attractions such as the Oast House and the paper mill . A drive through the area will offer many photographic opportunities with hop fields and their oast houses and beautiful historic homes such as Tynwald. St Matthew's is Tasmania's oldest church and is open to visitors. Jet boat rides down the rapids of the Derwent River are for the adventurous.
With numerous tours, including a "Behind the Scenes" look, and some highly regarded collections, this museum has something for everyone.
Serious students and wide eyed novices alike will marvel at the collections, including those embracing Ancient Egyptian and Early ...
Como House is one of Melbourne's best known historical landmarks. The Italianate mansion was originally built in 1847 by the
pastoral Armytage family, and a visit today is a graphic reminder of how the upper classes of the day ...
The infamous Port Arthur Penal Colony was built on the Tasman Peninsula because it was easily secured by the narrow
isthmus at Eaglehawk Neck. Tethered dogs, especially trained to warn soldiers of escapees, guarded the narrow strip of land. ...