By the 1960s, almost all of the buildings on the riverfront had been torn down to make way for the Gateway Arch . The only ... More
By the 1960s, almost all of the buildings on the riverfront had been torn down to make way for the Gateway Arch . The only building on the Arch grounds that remained was the Old Cathedral, just west of the Arch's south leg. The Old Cathedral was inaugurated in 1818. Inside there are religious statues and paintings that tell the story of Christ's crucifixion. There are postcards available for sale inside a gift shop on the west side of the building. Guests are welcome from the morning through the afternoon.
The National Register of Historic Places calls this church a landmark, locals call it a bakery, and Catholic members call
it home. Founded in 1843, this church has since been redesigned into the splendorous form it still holds today. ...
St. Louis' City Hall, a massive stone building at the corner of Tucker and Market streets, was designed in 1890,
when the city was still among the half dozen largest cities in the country. Roughly modeled after the city ...
Travel to another world with the St. Louis African Chorus. Concerts are performed throughout the year, indicated via an updated
calendar on the group's Web site. The Chorus provides an outlet for African culture in the area and continues ...