Decades of Loop soot have not been kind to the Marquette Building's once reddish, terra-cotta exterior. However, the original ... More
Decades of Loop soot have not been kind to the Marquette Building's once reddish, terra-cotta exterior. However, the original grace of the terra-cotta still shines through these blackened, weathered walls. Named after Pere Marquette, who explored the Chicago region in 1674, this building was erected in 1894 for the George A. Fuller Company. Step inside the unusual, octagonal lobby to admire the intricate mosaics that tell the story of Marquette.
Designed by Solon B. Beman, this building opened in 1885 as a showroom and factory for the Studebaker company. Back
then, it made a variety of horse drawn vehicles. (An early Studebaker covered wagon is at the Museum of ...
The building where Excalibur is housed opened in 1892. It was dubbed "the castle" and designed by Henry Ives Cobb,
best known in Chicago as the architect for the Fisheries Building at the 1893 World's Fair. Today, "the castle" ...
Legend has it that the Rookery Building got its name because birds liked to roost atop the structure that formerly
sat on this site. John Root created this building, arguably Chicago's most beautiful work of architecture, in 1888. The ...
*Terms & Conditions: Savings calculation is based on Flight + Hotel vacation package bookings for a 3 month period for 2 adults with a 2+ night length of stay compared to price of the same components if booked separately during same period. Savings will vary based on origin/destination, length of trip, travel dates and selected travel supplier(s). Savings not available on all packages.