Designed by Solon B. Beman, this building opened in 1885 as a showroom and factory for the Studebaker company. Back then, it ... More
Fine Arts Building
Designed by Solon B. Beman, this building opened in 1885 as a showroom and factory for the Studebaker company. Back then, it made a variety of horse drawn vehicles. (An early Studebaker covered wagon is at the Museum of Science and Industry .) After Studebaker moved out, the arts moved in, and the building became known as the "Carnegie Hall" of Chicago. The first floor provided a theater space, while the rest of the building housed offices of drama and music teachers. L. Frank Baum (the writer of "The Wizard of Oz"), Lorado Taft and Frank Lloyd Wright all had studios here. Today, the arts live on, and many of the offices remain dedicated to music.
Club Quarters is a full service, club like hotel in a prime riverfront location on Wacker Drive off Michigan Avenue.
Most services are complimentary including WiFi, bottled water, coffee, tea and use of computers and printers.Additional hotel amenities include ...
While no longer the world's tallest building, the Willis Tower (formerly Sears Tower) still stands proud. High speed elevators climb
110 stories to the observatory deck, and when clear, the view from 1454 feet (443 meters) can be stunning. ...
This beautiful synagogue in the heart of downtown Chicago provides multiple services daily for business people, tourists, and the rapidly
increasing number of local residents. While services are traditional, all people regardless of denomination are welcome. Sculptural Hands of ...