This cemetery is 70 hectares. In the eastern section of the cemetery lie common graves of the 'Defenders of Leningrad', those who perished defending the city during the terrible siege of the 'Great Fatherland War';the Second World War. The cemetery has got another name;Georgiievskoe (George's)as there was once a church here named after George the Victor.
Just along the Neva River at the most eastern end of Nevskii Prospekt is the oldest monastery in St. Petersburg.
Surrounded by walls and moats, the Alexander Nevsky Monastery was founded by Peter the Great in 1710. It is ...