The Munttoren en Muntplein of the former Regulier's Gate was built around CE 1480. Regulier's Gate was part of the ... More
Munttoren en Muntplein
The Munttoren en Muntplein of the former Regulier's Gate was built around CE 1480. Regulier's Gate was part of the old town rampart. It became obsolete when the city expanded its borders southwards at the end of the sixteenth century. After the great fire of 1618, the lower part was left intact. The city allowed architect Hendrick de Keyser to reconstruct the wooden upper part. The brothers Hemony, famous for their bell-foundry, were commissioned to make the carillon. The tower was used as a minthouse in the 17th Century.
Madame Tussaud Scenerama is housed in a very large building in the center of Amsterdam. It is spread over four
floors. An entire section is devoted to Dutch history, and more specifically, the history of Amsterdam. Many European celebrities, ...
The Waag, located on the Nieuwmarkt square, was part of the old town ramparts. It was first named the Gate
of St. Anthony, built in 1488, which explains the massive towers and the holes in it. In 1614, the ...
The Begijnhof lies hidden away from the noisy shopping street Kalverstraat , next to the History Museum. Most of the
houses in this area were built in the 17th Century; the oldest one here dating back to 1475. Wooden ...