A small footbridge was built across Amstel River in 1671. The bridge was made of wood and it could be raised. In the ... More
The Skinny Bridge (Magere Brug)
A small footbridge was built across Amstel River in 1671. The bridge was made of wood and it could be raised. In the beginning, the bridge was called the "Chicken's Bridge" because of its small construction. Later on, again due to the construction, it adopted the name "Skinny Bridge", being compared to a slender woman. It was rebuilt in 1871 and 1929, but it was once again made of wood and the construction was "skinny". Nowadays, the Magere Brug is lit up at night, beautifying Amstel River in the dark.
This round church which has a dome and an ambulatory along half of its circumference was burnt to the ground
in 1822 in a fire caused by some careless plumbers. It was rebuilt in 1823 by T.F. Suys and ...
Anne Frank and her family went into hiding here on July 6, 1942, and lived in isolation for over two
years. The German occupation removed all the furniture when the inhabitants were detained in 1944. However, films and other ...
In 1864 Gerard Adriaan Heineken took over De Hooiberg (the haystack) brewery, at the Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal. This takeover purchase laid
the foundation for one of the world's largest modern breweries. In 1868 the company started construction of the Heineken ...
*Terms & Conditions: Savings calculation is based on Flight + Hotel vacation package bookings for a 3 month period for 2 adults with a 2+ night length of stay compared to price of the same components if booked separately during same period. Savings will vary based on origin/destination, length of trip, travel dates and selected travel supplier(s). Savings not available on all packages.