The Waag, located on the Nieuwmarkt square, was part of the old town ramparts. It was first named the Gate of St. Anthony, ... More
The Waag, located on the Nieuwmarkt square, was part of the old town ramparts. It was first named the Gate of St. Anthony, built in 1488, which explains the massive towers and the holes in it. In 1614, the gate was no longer part of the front line of defense and a new, wider rampart was built. It had a new function: a weighing house. This was the place where goods were weighed and the building where taxes were levied. In addition to guilds like the guild of surgeons or the bricklayers' guild, a guild of weighers existed. Currently, De Waag also functions as a media center, and a resource for Amsterdam regarding information on healthcare, education, society, and culture.
Amsterdam is known for its canals and why not—it boasts of around 165 of them! Brouwersgracht is no different from
the others. Come here to take in the city's charm. The streets, lined with bicycles, give you a sense ...
This art gallery, located near the Spiegelkwartier, organizes exhibitions six times a year with various works from its house artists.
Three times a year, ArtKitchen releases new publications and prints with the work of an artist from the gallery: ...
In 1620 the northern part of the Jordaan welcomed its own church, the Noorderkerk, built in 1620 1623, by Hendrick
de Keyser and his son Pieter. During the Renaissance period the centrifugal geometrical concept of the church was the ...
*Terms & Conditions: Savings calculation is based on Flight + Hotel vacation package bookings for a 3 month period for 2 adults with a 2+ night length of stay compared to price of the same components if booked separately during same period. Savings will vary based on origin/destination, length of trip, travel dates and selected travel supplier(s). Savings not available on all packages.