Open Hours: Mo to Fr from 07:15 AM to 12:00 PM,Mo to Fr from 05:00 PM to 07:30 PM,Sa from 05:00 PM to 07:30 PM,Su from 09:30 AM to 01:30 PM
The orphanage and Church of Mercy were built between 1592 and 1607 by the congregation of the Oratorio dei Bianchi. The ... More
Church of the Pietà dei Turchini
The orphanage and Church of Mercy were built between 1592 and 1607 by the congregation of the Oratorio dei Bianchi. The institution took in abandoned children, and the new name of the church, 'dei Turchini' (of the Azures) instead of 'dei Bianchi' (of the Whites), referred to the clothes worn by the children. In the conservatory next door, children studied music and singing, and among them was the great Giovanni Paisiello. The conservatory then merged with San Pietro a Majella. Completed in 1595, it was then extended in 1630. It is typical of religious buildings of the counter reformation. The chapels were decorated by Battistello Caracciolo and Filippo Vitale as well as other figures from the 17th-century Neapolitan painting circles.
Legend has it that the origins of this church lie in the coming of St Peter to Naples, where he
took his first mass at the altar in the atrium. This is commemorated in the painting which hangs above ...
This church was once part of a large monastery complex spread out between Via Santa Chiara, Via Benedetto Croce, Giovanni
Maggiore Pignatelli and Pallonetto di Santa Chiara. It is no longer a place of worship but functions as the ...
The interior consists of architectural elements typical of the sixteenth century, plus an eighteenth century altar in polychrome marble. During
the "Maggio dei monumenti 1999" festival, the church was finally restored. The structure was rebuilt according to the original ...