At the entrance to the historic Brera quarter is the church dedicated to S. Maria del Carmine. It was built in 1400 for Gian ... More
Santa Maria del Carmine
At the entrance to the historic Brera quarter is the church dedicated to S. Maria del Carmine. It was built in 1400 for Gian Galeazzo Visconti on an old Carmelite instituition which was abandoned because of the neighbouring castle in construction. Planned by Bernado da Venezia according to a typical square design, already used by the architect for the church del Carmine di Pavia, the building had many interruptions that lasted until 1456 with the intervention of Pietro Solari. Transformed in the Baroque era, the church was brought back to gothic form by the radical intervention of the architects Giuseppe Pestagalli (1826-39) and Carlo Maciachini (1880) who also planned the facade, and Ambrogio Annoni in 1912. Inside the church, the sculptures, paintings and wooden inlay from the 15th-17th centuries, are all of note and there are two surviving cloisters in which fragments of roman and medieval sculptures can be found as well as parts from the fifteenth century which come from sepulchral monuments which were once in the church.
Wandering through the city, we encountered the beautiful church dedicated to Santa Maria del Carmine of which we haven't read before in any guide. When we entered into its interior we found a real little gem of Milan.
Commissioned by Ludovico di Moro and designed by Guiniforte Solari, this building was intended as a mausoleum for the Sforzesco
dynasty, in which the remains of the duke and his wife, Beatrice d'Este, as well as others connected with ...
This church was built in 1262 not far from the Chiesa della SS.Annunziata del Vastato . It sits, with its
adjoining convent, at the centre of a popular suburb, just outside the twelfth century bastions, and belongs to the ...
Building work on Santa Maria dei Servi was begun in 1346 by the Servi di Maria (Servants of Mary). The
church was enlarged in 1381 following the design of A. da Faenza and building only finished in 1545. The ...