Also called the Loggia della Signoria, the Loggia was named the Loggia dei Lanzi when the Duke Alessandro de' Medici made it ... More
Loggia dei Lanzi
Also called the Loggia della Signoria, the Loggia was named the Loggia dei Lanzi when the Duke Alessandro de' Medici made it the camp of the Lanzichenecchi after the fall of the Florentine Republic. It was the Signoria which commissioned a great Loggia for public use in 1350. The job was started by Orcagna, but continued and finished by Benci di Cione and Francesco Talenti only in 1382. Made in Serena stone with acute pointed arches and bricks decorated by sculptures designed by Agnolo Gaddi, this taste for a classical style is what characterises Florentine art of the time. Benvenuto Cellini's famous Perseus was installed under the Loggia, and in the central arch Giambologna's marble Rape of the Sabine Women, which can be found next to Hercules with Nessus also in marble. The other statues at the back near to the walls came from the Medici villa in Rome.
The Loggia is also known as the Loggia di San Matteo is to be found on the corner of Piazza
San Marco, just before the turning off to via Ricasoli. The portico was part of the hospital dedicated to ...
Forming part of Florence's old 14th century fortifications, of which there are still solid traces, the two walls spread out
from the gate towards Piazza Tasso to the east and to the north west along the Viali dei Colli. ...
Underneath the Loggia del Porcellino, the marble wheel can be found which commemorates the place where the carroccio was left,
an emblem of the Florentine Republic. In medieval times it was used as a pillory for those who dared ...