Open Hours: Mo to Fr from 11:00 AM to 01:00 PM,Mo to Fr from 02:15 PM to 05:00 PM,Sa from 11:00 AM to 01:00 PM,Sa from 02:15 PM to 04:00 PM,Su from 03:00 PM to 05:00 PM
This 18 acre site with a Georgian house was presented to the Cork Corporation in 1907 by the Cork International Exhibition ... More
Cork Public Museum
This 18 acre site with a Georgian house was presented to the Cork Corporation in 1907 by the Cork International Exhibition Association. The site became Fitzgerald Park , a lovely garden in a clean part of the city. The building, known as the Shrubberies, was first turned into a museum in 1909. It became the location for the Municipal offices after the burning of the city hall by the Black and Tans, and re-opened as the present museum in 1945. The collections cover local history and date back to the Mesolithic period, with particular emphasis placed on civic regalia and the trades and crafts of the 19th and 20th centuries. Other collections include Cork silver and glass and delicate Youghal lace.
The museum was founded in 1838, in a neo Romanesque style building. Renovated and re opened to the public in
1952, it's located within the public gardens of Corso Venezia. Beginning in 1980, a comprehensive modernization programme was initiated. ...
Situated across perhaps the most picturesque stretch of the River Lee in Cork City, Daly's Bridge of 1926 connects Sundays
Well Road with the charming formal gardens of Fitzgerald Park . During the last century, ferry boats crossed the ...
This church is a magnificent essay in Neo Gothic by A.W. Pugin. It was completed in 1868, replacing an earlier
church built on the same site in 1786. Pugin had intended to have a spire erected but this was ...