All Viennese children learn the story of the Basilisk: in 1212, there was a Basilisk, a cross-breed of a cock and a toad, ... More
All Viennese children learn the story of the Basilisk: in 1212, there was a Basilisk, a cross-breed of a cock and a toad, which lived in the well at the baker's house. All who looked into his eyes were immediately turned to stone. The clever apprentice to the baker showed a mirror to the beast and so it was turned into stone itself. An inscription and a drawing still remind us of his heroic deed. Walking down the Schönlaterngasse and the little neighboring roads with their small old buildings is a real trip down memory lane.
The new town hall was built from 1872 1883 to replace the old town hall in Wipplingerstraße and is neo
Gothic in style. A huge central tower, topped by the three meter high statue of a knight in armor ...
Situated on the south side of Rathausplatz, this edifice designed by the Danish architect Theophil Hansen, is one of the
most striking examples of the Ringstrasse era's architecture. From street level, it is difficult to see past the giant ...
Vienna is known for its famous Heurigen restaurants, traditional taverns serving local wine and hearty food, often accompanied by live
Viennese music. The district of Grinzing is full of such establishments, most of which are beautifully preserved and lend ...