Avenida João Luis Alves s/n, Rio de Janeiro 22291-090
AVERAGE USER RATING
Contact:+55 21 2543 3323
Formerly known as Forte São Teodósio, the current name became official in 1618 when the elaborate stone gate was ... More
Fortaleza de São João
Formerly known as Forte São Teodósio, the current name became official in 1618 when the elaborate stone gate was built. In 1872, the fortress was remodeled and modern weapons were installed among which were 15 cannons. It was later renovated, and only the old gate and some ruins remain of the original structure. Additionally, there is a private beach for use by the military staff. From the fortress there is a superb view of the Guanabara Bay.
Minors under age 18 must be accompanied by at least one parent, and present official ID, to check in. If
a minor is traveling without parents, a responsible person named by parents must present parent's written authorization, complete with ...
One of the few surviving landmarks from the colonial era, this aqueduct was finished in 1750. At one time it
carried water down from the Rio Carioca, it now serves as a viaduct to the wonderful Bondinho de Santa ...
Pao de Acucar or Sugar Loaf Mountain is one of Rio's most famous landmarks. It is the best place to
gain a dramatic perspective on how mountains and sea confront each other to create the natural beauty of the ...