St Ninian's church was built in 1862 as a Presbyterian church and in 1977 became the Uniting Church. It was founded by ... More
St Ninian's Uniting Church
St Ninian's church was built in 1862 as a Presbyterian church and in 1977 became the Uniting Church. It was founded by Scottish settlers, many of whom were shepherds in the district. Local stone from Black Mountain Nature Park was used to build this simple church with volunteer labor. The church fell into disrepair in the years between 1921 to 1947 but was later extended and renovated. The church seats 144 people. It has a plain interior except for the geometrically patterned, stained-glass windows.
The cornerstone of St. Mark's was laid in 1859, but the onset of the Civil War delayed construction. Work resumed
in 1873 and the first service was held on Easter Sunday in 1875. An interesting note about St. Mark's ...
Great St. Mary's, which overlooks the market place, plays an important role in university and civic life, in addition to
its duties as a parish church. Building began in 1478 and Henry VII himself gave 100 oak trees to ...