Short story writer William Sydney Porter, whose pen name was O. Henry, lived in this home for three years while he spent time ... More
O. Henry House Museum
Short story writer William Sydney Porter, whose pen name was O. Henry, lived in this home for three years while he spent time in Austin. It was constructed in 1891 and is filled with rare books, O. Henry's writing desk, original furniture, photographs, personal belongings and the chairs that brought The Gift of the Magi to life. Enjoy a guided tour and learn about the history of this home and its famous occupant. The home has been moved twice since from its original location at 308 East Fourth Street. It now features a gift shop with books, videotapes and more. The museum offers writing clubs for Austin children and sponsors many local events such as the Victorian Christmas celebration and the "O. Henry Pun-Off." Admission is free, but donations are welcome.
Originally housing the first classes ever held by the University of Texas at Austin in 1894, the remains of Austin's
first state house is directly across from the current State Capitol Building . Once serving as a temporary capitol ...
Built in 1867 as the home of the Texas General Land Office, this building is the oldest standing government building
in the state. Along with a listing on the National Register of Historic Places, it has quite a bit ...
The Austin Museum of Art offers two distinct art experiences. AMOA Downtown serves as the Museum's principal exhibition site and
presents exhibitions and education programs that showcase 20th Century and contemporary art. These exhibitions offer something for everyone. To ...